Apple No-oatmeal

27 Oct

Just a quick recipe I had to share with you all during some rare free time. And by free time, I mean sitting in the passenger seat on the way to the pumpkin patch.
I threw this together with the help of little hands- little hands that eagerly grab the milk out of the fridge, the chia seeds out of the cupboard, and the proper measuring cups all while I stand in one place, chopping little apples from my grandmother’s tree and pouring ingredients into my Ninja.
After two bites, she thanked me for making such a delicious breakfast. My husband liked it so much he suggested I make a huge batch and try freezing it.

image

Apple No-oatmeal
Inspired by wallflower girl

2 apples, or 4 small
1 cup coconut milk (or almond)
3 TB chia seeds
3 TB almond butter
6 dates, pitted
1 TB vanilla
1 ts cinnamon
1 ts coconut sugar (optional, I think it’s perfectly sweet without it)

Peel and core the apples.
Throw everything except for a half an apple (or one small) into a food processor.
Once combined, pour into a saucepan and heat slowly.
Process the remaining apple until it’s shredded, but not pureed. Add to pan. This gives the “oatmeal” more texture.
If it becomes too thick as it’s heating, add a few splashes of whichever milk you’re using.

Leave a Reply

