Arachnids & Waffles

12 Sep

I’m pretty sure spiders are taking over the world. And by the world, I mean the acre around my house. It’s become a serious problem because I’m constantly walking into their stupid webs. They’re everywhere! Even in a big, wide open space that doesn’t seem like a feasible spot for a web to be, all the sudden there’s one across my face, right at eyeball height. What. The. Heck. The even-more-weird part about it is that it’s all the same kind of spider.  I’ve lived in my house house for two years and this has never happened before. At my place, we always have plenty of frogs and biting ants.

image

Never before has there been a spider problem like this. In the dark mornings, as I walk to my car to go workout at JTS, I hold my arm out in front of me to keep the worst of it from hitting my face. One of my besties said that’s a good indicator for differing between country and city folk- understanding the gesture of holding your arm in front of your face while walking.

image

This little sucker dive bombed into my open window while I was driving! I'm lucky to be alive.

On a somewhat related note- there were birds in Costco today.

image

Anyways, on to the food. That’s why you’re here right?
I hate rushing. I despise being late. Therfore, I always get up with plenty of time to get ready in the morning. I always ensure I have enough time to cook and eat breakfast, as well as drink a cup of coffee at a reasonable pace. Breakfast is high on my priority list. I’m teaching my daughter to value morning time as much as I do, because I know she dislikes being rushed too.
That being said, it’s better to be safe than sorry. A suitable breakfast back-up plan is something that can be prepared quickly and store for a long time. Can you think of anything that fits that? Frozen waffles. Yes, like Eggos. But do you know what’s in those?

Ingredients: Enriched flour (wheat flour, niacin, reduced iron, vitamin B1 [thiamin mononitrate], vitamin B2 [riboflavin], folic acid), water, vegetable oil (soybean, palm, and/or canola oil), sugar, eggs, dextrose, contains 2% or less of leavening (baking soda, sodium aluminum phosphate, monocalcium phosphate), modified corn starch, salt, dried blueberries, apple fiber, natural and artificial flavors, maltodextrin, cellulose gum, citric acid, whey, soy lecithin, blue 2 lake, red 40 lake.
Vitamins and Minerals: Calcium carbonate, vitamin A palmitate, reduced iron, niacinamide, vitamin B12, vitamin B6 (pyridoxine hydrochloride), vitamin B1 (thiamin hydrochloride), vitamin B2 (riboflavin).

Holy ingredients. That’s quite a long list just for waffles. Am I the only one disturbed by the word “OR” in an ingredients list? Mmm modified, colored, and artificial. So great for me. Or not. Those are the ingredients of the blueberry waffles, which were my favorite as a kid. Now that my knowledge of real nutrition has grown, I would not serve them to my child (no offense mom!)

Guess what? You can make your own waffles. You can freeze them. You can toast them. JUST like Eggos but without that crap that your body does not need. And your kids will love them just as much. Seriously, mine is crazy excited for them.

image

CRAZY excited!

I didn’t take any prep pictures of them because I wasn’t sure if my Goodwill waffle iron would destroy them or not. Luckily it all worked out; best $10 spent.

The recipe can be found in the much admired Paleo Parent’s book-  Eat Like Dinosaur. But they were also extremely kind enough to put the recipe on their blog for folks like me.

One Response to “Arachnids & Waffles”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Waffles, Round Two | - September 29, 2013

    […] posted about waffles a few weeks ago, using Paleo Parent’s recipe. This morning I woke up nice and early on the […]

Leave a Reply

