SUSHI

6 Sep
image

SUSHI!!

Why is the title capitalized? Because I’m Internet-yelling. I’m that excited. You should be too.
Lunch is one of the more difficult meals to come up with new things for. Having a paleo family, we don’t do sandwiches; and romaine/cabbage wraps do get old after the 50th variation. Often times lunch is leftovers from the night before, but there is the occasion that there are no leftovers or I stuffed myself so full of chicken and sweet potatoes the night before that I don’t even want to look at the leftovers.
Thank you Pinterest for existing. As a twentysomething American female, I’m sure my DNA is encoded with the must-love-pinterest gene. Ok, ok… maybe it had to do with environmental influence and adaptive capacity,  but you know what I mean. Simply searching for “paleo” on Pinterest ends up with findings I didn’t know I was missing in my life. Like sushi. I read that some people use cauliflower rice as a replacement for the real thing, without fantastic results. Then one day I come upon a beautiful picture of sushi made by Megan of Freckled Italian; and I figuratively smack myself on the forehead for not thinking of it first- just omit the rice.
The very next day I find myself browsing the aisles for seaweed, and was pleasantly surprised to discover how cheap it is. Oh yes, I’m thrilled. Something new, out of the ordinary, and a near replica of an old favorite.
I didn’t actually make them for a few days, because I already had perishable lunch foods already lined up, and food waste has become a huge peeve of mine.
Sadly, I used up my ripe avocado before I made these. It would’ve been a perfect addition. Put whatever you like in your sushi- if raw fish is your thing, then go for it. I personally don’t have a trusted resource of fresh, high quality raw fish. So canned tuna it is. Chicken, smoked salmon, or shredded pork would all be great too.

First prepare the meat- whether that’s shredding it or adding mayo or adding seasoning. I mixed in a little bit of mayo (homemade is best and easy.)
Spread the meat in the middle of your seaweed.

image

About half of a can of tuna per sheet.

Then add toppings, spreading out but not getting too close to the outer edge. I used red pepper, romaine, pickles, and grape tomatoes.

image

Wet your hands a little to help the seaweed stick and roll as tightly as possible without tearing it. If you own a bamboo mat, that works too. I obviously don’t have one… yet.
Hold the roll as you slice it. I found using a serrated knife works best.

image

Eat those beauties up. But before you do, take a picture and post it to my Facebook page! I’d love to see how you make it your own.
Are there any foods you’ve eliminated from your diet that you miss?

One Response to “SUSHI”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Real Food Lunches | - October 23, 2013

    […] Tuna sushi […]

Leave a Reply

