Eat Your Veggies

17 Aug

For my family and I, eating veggies is a fairly high priority. It’s up there on the list with getting enough sleep, always speak kindly, and hold hands when you’re in a parking lot. We try to fill our plates with around half veggies.
One of my family’s favorite veggie groups is squash. Any squash, any time of year, we love them all. I could say “especially. ..” but then I’d end up naming them all. Squashes used to be a sideline ingredient before we made the switch to only-good-for-your-body food.** Now squash is spot light center stage as it has replaced things like spaghetti, lasagna, and even pizza.

I’m regularly reading paleo bloggers’ new recipes for new ways to enjoy this season’s squash. Thanks to Juli of Paleomg for this summer squash meatball casserole, I had a satisfying dinner that I was happy to watch my husband and five year old eat up and ask for more.

Ingredients (with my alterations)

2 tablespoons bacon fat
5 garlic cloves, minced
2 small zucchinis, shredded
2 small yellow squash, shredded
1 red onion, shredded
1 tablespoon cumin
1 tablespoon coriander
2 teaspoons smoked paprika
1 pound ground beef
3 tablespoons tomato paste
Large handful of cherry/grape tomatoes
salt and pepper, to taste
fresh parsley, roughly chopped

image

Click here for the recipe.

If you have a shredding attachment on some sort of kitchen gadget, that will make prep a hundred times faster.
I served this dish with carrot fries.

**note- I don’t like to use the words “healthy food” because our modern day has competely mutilated the true meaning of the term. “Healthy” has been slapped on labels as a marketing ploy. If a “food product” has to convince you that it’s “healthy,” then it is likely not.

Leave a Reply

