It’s What I Do

9 Aug

One year ago, I was at my heaviest I’ve ever been (not including pregnancy.) For several years I had maintained a membership with a regular gym and had an on-and-off relationship with it. I figured out the machines I liked and then went in and used the same exact machines in the same exact order. I thought I was pushing myself. Then I’d spend 20-60 minutes on the elliptical, keeping my heart rate in the “right” range. I didn’t lose much weight while I was working out there, but I didn’t gain weight either. Then I stopped going because it felt so depressing going to a place that was so awkward around a bunch of strangers and hardly seeing any benefits. Stress escalated, and I gained weight.

That was last year.

On September 12, 2012 my life changed as I walked into Jowers Training Systems. I had been invited by a friend for a “bring a friend” day. Anxious and a little scared, I was greeted wholeheartedly by  welcoming members and Jeff, the owner and one of the trainers. The workout.  Kicked. My. Butt. Soaked in sweat and drained, I left smiling. The support and encouragement I had during that 45 minutes was nothing like my experience at a “regular” gym. Having someone pay attention to the form of my movements and patiently correcting me was embarrassing the first time (Oh crap, I did it wrong,) and comforting every time afterwards. It was gratifying knowing that I had someone watching out for not only my safety, but helping me get the maximum potential out of each and every movement.

The next few days I was sore and knew I needed to keep moving to prevent more soreness. I tried without much conviction until that same friend mentioned that there was a Groupon for six weeks of unlimited workouts at JTS. It was pretty cheap, so I grabbed at the chance. I went back for more and met more trainers and members who I was still astounded by how warm and motivating they all were. I sweat, sucked down more water than I had in my entire life, and learned just how much of my lung capacity I hadn’t been using. Over that six weeks I was integrated into the community. Even though I was nowhere near as strong or fit as some of the members, I felt like I belonged. So much so that I started a membership at the end of my Groupon. By the end of that six weeks I had developed something new: genuine determination. I knew I could get stronger, I knew  I could lose weight and get fit.

And guess what? I did.

Currently, about 11 months later, I’ve built muscle, endurance, skill, friendships, overall energy, a relationship with fitness, and most importantly– confidence.  I lost weight. I made goals and surpassed them. I’m happier than I’ve ever been. That pessimistic chick unhappily running on that elliptical wouldn’t even recognize the person I am today. This well-founded optimism has spilled over into other areas of my life– strengthening my marriage, helping me be a better role model for my daughter, lessening my stress with various parts of life, and even giving me more belief in my abilities in studies at school.

I couldn’t imagine my life without the fantastic workouts and trainers at JTS. I never feel like I have to be there. It’s just what I do. No matter how much I’ve struggled or achieved in each and every workout, I have always walked out of that building feeling accomplished.
image

2 Responses to “It’s What I Do”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. CONSTANT VIGILANCE | - August 28, 2013

    […] is exciting in a way that has me giddy like a 16 year old on a date. When I walk in the doors of JTS , I grab a foam roller and read the whiteboard as I walk towards a spot to sit, stretch, and roll […]

  2. Ch-ch-ch-changes | - September 30, 2013

    […] entire week can be made by a new accomplishment at JTS. Like going up in weight, or getting my first (insert bad ass […]

Leave a Reply

