Banana Nut Porridge

8 Aug

Thanks to Danielle Walker from Against All Grain for this satisfying breakfast option.

Ever since ditching grains in December 2012, breakfast has mostly been about eggs, meat, and veggies. My regular, pre-workout meal is two eggs cooked in coconut oil and a cup of coffee.  l love my eggs! The beautiful brown speckled shells gives me a little contentment at 5 am. Thankfully I don’t get sick of eggs like many who used to depend on cereal, granola, muffins, pancakes, etc, for breakfasts. I like to switch it up every now and then; and when I saw Danielle pin this just before bed, I jumped at the new idea and quickly ensured I had all the ingredients before tossing the nuts in a bowl to soak.

While I have made a grain free muffin or two or twelve in my time, I don’t use them as a staple. Grain-free goodies (including this porridge) made with nut flours or mainly nuts are an occasional treat, not a staple. An overload of nuts or seeds will cause a major imbalance, and the side effects are not lovely. Trust me, I’ve learned the hard way.

As Danielle points out in her post, a small portion of this delicious banana nut porridge is very filling. I suggest filling your bowl with less than what you think you want at first.

The only changes I made to her recipe is that I used walnuts in place of pecans because it’s what I had on hand. The texture is surprisingly enjoyable (I’m big on food texture) and the flavor is mildly sweet. Perfect add-ins I’ve tried are figs (pictured below) or a teaspoon of fresh blackberry puree. If you prefer more sweetness you could add a date to the food processor or drizzle some raw, local honey on top.

Ingredients

1/2 cup cashews
1/2 cup raw pecans (or walnuts)
1/2 cup raw almonds
2 cups coconut milk
1 ripe banana
2 tsp cinnamon
Sprinkle of salt for soaking

Head on over to Against All Grain for the recipe.

Note that the nuts need to be soaked overnight to obtain the correct texture.
Here’s my soaked, rinsed nuts.

image

And after running everything through my not-so-sharp processor, I poured one serving into my little bitty Ninja and smoothed out the porridge even more.
Voilà!

image

Leave a Reply

